No credit card is required to sign up for a trial account. In order to stop trial accounts being abused for the purposes of spam, we do ask for your mobile phone number, so we can send a verification code via SMS. This lets us know you're a real human.
You can add as many users as you want within your account, but only the first five will be live. The additional users are disabled until the account is subscribed to a paid plan. This lets you prepare all your users so you don't have any split billing.
A trial account can have a maximum of five aliases, and can't delete or change them.
Unverified users can't download their emails via IMAP or POP.
Unverified users can't see the contents of certain emails via our web interface. We block reading these emails to prevent spammers and scammers abusing our trial accounts to make spare accounts on other services. If you need to see the contents of these emails, please verify using SMS, or become a paid member.
Upgrading to a Plan
You can upgrade to a paid plan any time during your trial: any days remaining from your trial are added for free to the end of your subscription. You can choose which plan to subscribe to, and you are able to upgrade and downgrade any time as your needs change.
Expired trial accounts
Trial accounts lose their ability to send and receive mail if they are not paid for at the end of the trial period. Shortly after, the account is disabled and eventually deleted.