Professional: email retention archive

About Email Retention

Email retention is a feature that provides a tamper-proof copy of every email sent or received, accessible only by administrators of the account. This feature is only available to Professional accounts (and legacy business accounts). The system is flexible enough to meet the demands of most industries:

How to enable retention

To enable email retention in your Professional account:

  1. Log in as an admin user.
  2. Go to the Settings → Users & Aliases screen.
  3. Select the user(s) you want to enable retention for and click Edit in the toolbar at the top.
  4. Tick Keep a tamper-proof copy of all email sent to/from this user, and select how long to hold the copy for.

How to view retained emails

Only administrators of the account can view retained emails.

  1. Go to the Settings → Users & Aliases screen.
  2. Use the View email retention archive link at the bottom of the page.

In the folder list on the left is a list of users with retention enabled, with a sub-folder each for sent and received email.


Retention pricing: legacy business accounts

Note: Professional plan accounts have no charges for email retention.

For accounts on our legacy "Business" plan, our pricing for email retention is based on the total size of email retained for a user.

The price is calculated and charged on the 1st calendar day of each month. For each user archive, $2.00 is charged for each gigabyte or part thereof in the user's retention account.

To check the amount of storage used, view the account archive (Go to Settings → Users & Aliases, then use the View email retention archive link.). Beneath the list of folders in the side bar there is a summary of the storage being used.