Conversations

To make it quicker and easier to follow a conversation, replies are grouped with the original message. This means you can see all the related messages together, rather than having them randomly scattered across your mailbox.

If you're not used to a conversational workflow with your email, please see below for an explanation of some key aspects of how conversations work.

Replying in a conversation

By default, when you respond to a message in a conversation, your response is sent to everyone included in the email. You can change this in the Settings → Preferences screen. Click Show Advanced Preferences, and scroll down to the Compose & Reply section. Change from "Reply to everyone in the conversation" to "Just reply to the sender".

If you only want to respond to the last person who sent a message in a conversation, click Reply to Sender when responding.

Deleting a conversation

Deleting a conversation deletes ALL the messages in that conversation across ALL FOLDERS, not just the message you see in the mailbox.

This includes messages in your Sent folder that are part of the conversation as well.

If you'd like to only delete messages from the currently selected folder and not the whole folder instead, go to your Settings → Preferences screen. In the Mail section, un-check the Delete grouped messages from all folders option.

Deleting an individual message

To delete a single message from a conversation, open the conversation and click the More button in the header of the message you wish to delete. Then click Delete.

Turning off conversation grouping

If you'd prefer to see all of your messages separately, you can turn off conversations. Each message will be treated completely independently.

  1. Open the Settings → Preferences screen.
  2. In the Mail section, select the option to Show every message separately.

Splitting conversations (into multiple threads)

Conversations get split apart and form new conversation threads when:

1. The subject changes
This usually means a new topic is being discussed so a new conversation thread is formed.
2. A conversation gets too large.
When there are are more than 100 messages in a conversation, a new conversation thread is made.